Never So Long As We Live

Have you ever read a novel that takes place in your hometown? Maybe if you live someplace like New York City that’s not so amazing, but when you live in rural Wisconsin, a local story featuring familiar restaurants, the library, Main Street, and other recognizable landmarks (the promiscuous statue in front of City Hall) is something worth posting!

The book is called Never So Long As We Live by A. Kragt and L. L. Gappa (2016). I don’t personally know the authors, but I know one of their mothers. It makes it even more special.

Plus, the book has a fairy tale theme. True, it’s a very dark fairy tale theme. This is a murder mystery and a thriller. There are some gruesome things about the story. I stayed up late into the night to finish it (because it’s good, but also because I knew I’d have bad dreams if I left off in one of the scary spots). I did enjoy the characters: two independent young women match up with two very different policemen. The dialog between these characters keeps the pages flipping! As much as I truly enjoyed the characterization and the setting, I believe the dialog is the best thing about the book.

It’s available on Amazon, if you’re interested.

3 thoughts on “Never So Long As We Live”

    1. Hi Rose. You’ll probably really like this book. You should get it:) And yes, all is well. We’ve been sick off and on for what seems like months, but I think we’re over that now.

  1. That looks like a good book. It is neat to read books that are set in familiar settings, as long as they’re well-written. I also find that when I read a series with a strong sense of place it makes me want to go there.

Leave a Reply

