In Doubt and Temptation

“In Doubt and Temptation” is a song I’ve often enjoyed singing from the blue Psalter Hymnal (c. 1976). Here’s the first verse:

In doubt and temptation I rest, Lord, in Thee;
My hand is in Thy hand, Thou carest for me;
My soul with Thy counsel through life Thou wilt guide,
And afterward make me in glory abide.

It’s a good song to sing when I need to keep living, keep riding along with the hours, despite whatever turmoil is going on around me. God is there, always. God is guiding me, always. I will always be with God. Those are great things to remember.

Also, the song starts on a low note (middle C) and only ever gets an octave higher. Since my voice doesn’t go very low, songs like this make me sing differently than other hymns. More robust. More like I’m reciting lines in a play to which I’m not me. And somehow, because of that, I remember the words better. They are lines I wouldn’t normally say, but I am supposed to say them anyway, so I do. It is nice to have a God-approved script waiting for me when I’m in doubt and temptation.

Leave a Reply

