Portrait of Madame Hubbard

Portrait of Madame Hubbard, Berthe Morisot, 1874
Portrait of Madame Hubbard, Berthe Morisot, 1874

I’m hot, too. I’m glad I’m not supposed to wear so many clothes as Madame Hubbard does. I’m also glad Madame Hubbard is wearing clothes unlike the painting it reminds me of (“Olympia” by Manet, 1863). This painting is nicer to look at than “Olympia” and I’m glad Morisot stole the use of that strong diagonal across the canvas created by a stretched-out human figure. Pretty soon I’m going to stretch out, too. But not in a canvas.

Leave a Reply

