The Chronicles of Narnia

“I was wondering – I mean – could there be some mistake? Because nobody called me and Scrubb, you know. It was we who asked to come here. Scrubb said we were to call to – to Somebody – it was a name I wouldn’t know – and perhaps the Somebody would let us in. And we did, and then we found the door open.”

“You would not have called to me unless I had been calling to you,” said the Lion.

“Then you are Somebody, sir?” said Jill.

“I am.”

— from The Silver Chair by C.S. Lewis, 1953

We did it. We completed the seven books of The Chronicles of Narnia in eight weeks. The big book is due back to the library tomorrow. The last part of The Last Battle is probably my favorite part of the series. Not much beats Aslan’s country. However, the lines I quoted above from The Silver Chair are the lines where I started cheering. Way to go, C. S. Lewis! Maybe I have a fascination with the doctrine of election. Maybe I’ve been tired of the overused metaphor of floating down a river and God puts out a stick for you to grab on to just before you go over the waterfall. There’s something wrong with that metaphor, right? In the metaphor, I have the power to grab or not to grab. Salvation is still up to me.

C. S. Lewis got it right. It might seem like I’m here on this world, calling out to God, but it is He who put it in my heart to call in the first place.

So did my kids understand all the theology in Narnia? Probably not. They seemed pretty thoughtful when I nudged them in the right direction. But hey! They’ve got it in them now. It can grow in their memories. They can reread later in their lives. Hopefully my five (almost six) year old will not think bitter thoughts about Narnia all her life. As far as she was concerned, it was too long and caused her brother and sister to stop playing with her. Nonetheless, she still loved Reepicheep.

 

One thought on “The Chronicles of Narnia”

  1. I, too, was amazed at the profundity of the theology embedded in this series when I read this with my guys a few years ago. I’m not sure I noticed all of it as I grew up reading these books.

    And how can you not be in love with Reepicheep?

Leave a Reply

