Wisdom from Little Town on the Prairie

Least said, soonest mended.

If wisdom’s ways you wisely seek,
Five things observe with care,
To whom you speak,
Of whom you speak,
And how, and when, and where.

— from Little Town on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder, 1941

Reading through the Little House series with my kids makes me think such things as, “What would Pa and Ma think if they just heard what my children said?” Now, I know with my mind that this is an idealized book, and Pa and Ma Ingalls had their own problems, but my heart tells me they were good parents. My kids like Pa, but I like Ma for her quiet steadfastness. And because she was more of a stickler for propriety than Pa.

I am certain Ma would not have written a blog. “Least said, soonest mended.” That phrase was quoted by Laura when she was dealing with her schoolteacher, Miss Wilder, who didn’t like her, but those four words speak volumes to me right now even though I don’t have a quarrel going with anyone.

So, I’m going to try life without blogging for awhile. I will say less. It seems wise. Goodbye for now.

3 thoughts on “Wisdom from Little Town on the Prairie”

  1. The Little House books have become such a part of me, both from my own childhood and as a mother reading them to my kids. I also think of Ma’s gentle voice at times- my favorite saying is “All’s well that ends well”.

    I understand very well your feelings about blogging. I also have mixed feelings about it. I just find that when I don’t blog I don’t write much at all, but I think if you are motivated to write without it then that is probably better.

  2. I have mixed feelings “liking” this post. I enjoy reading your thoughts and seeing which works of art you share. I do, however, appreciate the sentiments behind a break from the chatter. So often I feel it would have been better not to have written or said something.

Leave a Reply

