Effects of Snow

Camille Pissarro, Road from Versailles to Saint-Germain, Louveciennes, and effects of snow, 1872
Camille Pissarro, Road from Versailles to Saint-Germain, Louveciennes, and effects of snow, 1872

Winter has set in full and white. The ground has been covered in snow long enough to be used to it. I no longer try to get around outside without boots. I wear at least two long-sleeve shirts every day. My husband has gotten into the habit of wearing his thick winter socks. I finally read a book I’ve been meaning to read for the last couple of years, entitled The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey. It takes place in Alaska where winter takes hold even longer than here in Wisconsin. Great book based on a Russian fairy tale! The kids and I bring warm water out to the cats since the puddles are always frozen.

What are other effects of the snow? Winter paintings like this one seem normal. In July, I’d probably look at this Pissarro painting and think it was ugly, or unfortunately gray, or bleak. But today, while I overhear a very wintry forecast on the news, I think this is an accurate painting, quite right, quite appropriate. I wouldn’t mind having this hanging on my wall. It would complement the view from my windows.

4 thoughts on “Effects of Snow”

Leave a Reply

