Corot

Self-Portrait, Sitting Next to an Easel, Camille Corot, 1825
Self-Portrait, Sitting Next to an Easel, Camille Corot, 1825

Corot is our artist of the term. I do like his work, but I’m not excited by it. I will say the pictures we chose to look at each week worked well for the little Picture Study game the kids and I play. We study the picture for a minute or so, and then I make it go away (I do this on the computer, not printed out). The kids take turns telling me what they saw in the picture. It’s interesting when they disagree, and I have to put up the picture again so they can see who is right. So anyway, I was going through our pictures we studied and decided his self-portrait was my favorite. He looks like his landscapes: complete, and a bit grave. My kids had fun with his entire name: Jean-Baptiste Camille Corot. They recite the whole thing, and then say, “I’ll call him Jean.”

2 thoughts on “Corot”

Leave a Reply

