Harvest

Harvest at La Crau, with Montmajour in the Background, Vincent Van Gogh, 1888
Harvest at La Crau, with Montmajour in the Background, Vincent Van Gogh, 1888

Did you know that Van Gogh has a series of these wheat field paintings? Wheat is arguably the most beautiful crop grown here in Wisconsin. In my area, corn, soybeans and hay are more abundant, but I love wheat for its gold shimmery color at harvest time. It has a texture somewhere between wavy fabric and the sea, and yet it doesn’t lose its sense of individual wheat stalks, piles and piles of wheat stalks growing close together. Well, I’m not satisfied with my description of it. It’s something for poetry. I’ve used wheat in poems before, and I will probably keep trying to put in words what I know to be true.

2 thoughts on “Harvest”

Leave a Reply

