The Room of Flowers

Childe Hassam, The Room of Flowers, 1894
Childe Hassam, The Room of Flowers, 1894

You know what I like about art? I’ll never see it all. Here’s an American Impressionist whom I’ve never heard of, and his painting is one I’d hang in my family room, to remind me that rooms do not have to be neat and clutter-free. This room is delightful! Did you even notice the lady reading? I didn’t right away. I discovered her feet first. She is lost in her book and in all the lovely stuff around her. Those walls! I would love walls covered in art. I would get nothing done all day, but I would love it anyway.

3 thoughts on “The Room of Flowers”

  1. I LOVE Childe Hassam! Like you, I had never heard of him until we visited a small local museum exhibit of American Impressionists last summer. I would love to have a room like this!

Leave a Reply

