Seesaw – Gloucester, Massachusetts

Winslow Homer, Seesaw - Gloucester, Massachusetts, 1874
Winslow Homer, Seesaw – Gloucester, Massachusetts, 1874

Today my husband took the kids and I to the Paine Art Gallery in Oshkosh, WI to see the Winslow Homer wood engraving exhibit. He doesn’t normally do such things, but he took pity on me (I don’t normally do such things as drive to Oshkosh). The Paine Art Gallery is a beautiful mansion with rambling gardens, art everywhere, and even hands-on learning for the children. We had a good time. Well, I had a great time. The kids had a good time. And my husband enjoyed the drive home.

This seesaw picture is one of the wood engraving prints we saw. Many of Homer’s works have children in them (perhaps you know of “Snap-the-Whip”). The children are usually outdoors doing good things like balancing on the fulcrum of the seesaw, watching captured birds with great interest, and wringing out their clothes after going in the water at the beach. I liked Winslow Homer’s work before. Now I hold him in very high regard.

3 thoughts on “Seesaw – Gloucester, Massachusetts”

  1. I “liked” this post for the fact that we appreciate art to a greater extent after personal interactions with it, and for the fact that your husband was willing to take you all- something it sounds like he does not often do.

    1. I agree. Because I’m kind of a homebody, I try to tell myself that I enjoy art just as well in books. But it’s not true. Art is much more powerful hung up on someone’s wall.

Leave a Reply

