Marigolds

Marigolds, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, 1873
Marigolds, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, 1873

Dante Gabriel Rossetti’s work holds a strange fascination for me. Such solemn girls, so much meaning hidden into the objects of the painting, so much beauty even though it is sad and symbolic. I think if this girl smiled, the painting would lose intrigue. She holds keys to both mystery and simplicity. I think Rossetti’s artistic eye saw things on multiple levels, so his paintings can be viewed with the eye, the emotions, the psyche, the imagination, and the analyzing part of the brain. Maybe that is why I say I am fascinated with his paintings, and I do not say I love them. It is so difficult to pin down what I love about it.

Leave a Reply

