Farm Near Duivendrecht

Piet Mondrian, Farm Near Duivendrecht, 1916
Piet Mondrian, Farm Near Duivendrecht, 1916

The window above my kitchen sink looks out to the patch of woods behind our house. I often find myself staring at the bare tree branches. I love those black etchings against a blue-gray sky. It is so complicated and intricate. Because I like to draw, I stand at the sink and wonder how I would draw that. Would I simplify it? I would have to; there are far too many details for a two-dimensional drawing. But would I simplify it A LOT, or would it still be very complex and time-consuming? At this point I generally remind myself that I don’t have the time to do a very complex drawing, and then I remind myself that I live here and I can stare out my windows whenever I want. I don’t really need a drawing of it on my wall. And that leads me to contemplate the reason why people create art at all.

I have not come to any definitive answers on any of these things I wonder about. However, I notice that Mondrian loved bare tree branches, too. This is a more realistic rendering of them. In other paintings he simplifies, abstracts, breaks things down. He thought about things a lot, too, and he has complex theories that go with his artwork. I don’t know what they are; I just know I once tried to paint like Mondrian and my art professor said, “Yes, but he had theories to go with his paintings…” Well, theories or no theories, I like his tree branches.

4 thoughts on “Farm Near Duivendrecht”

    1. Yes, that’s the difference between us. I prefer tree branches over theories. You prefer theories over tree branches. 🙂
      Nice to hear from you, by the way!

  1. I enjoy stopping over and reading your thoughts on one work of art or another, Amy. It’s a peaceful place to drop by, and I appreciate your honest comments.
    Thank you for introducing me to Mondrian here. I especially love your last sentence of this post.

Leave a Reply

