Christmas Program

I have the strange honor of leading my church’s Christmas program this year. Strange because I’m not the type to lead a program. I sort of fell into the role, volunteering to “help” but there ended up being no one to help. The practice was this morning; the program is tomorrow after church. It’s going to be short and hopefully sweet.

It is also strange because taking over the role of leader ended up being political. I had an art teacher who once said, “Something is either poetic or political. There’s only those two things.” This is definitely the political side of church. I’m much too poetical at heart to enjoy being a politician.

And the kids! They can see right through a person. They know when I don’t know what I’m doing. An adult might give me the benefit of the doubt, or at least go through the pretense of understanding me. I get that all the time. I have a soft voice, and I know people have no idea what I’m saying half the time. But usually people act like they do anyway. Kids don’t. They’ll just start talking to someone else if they can’t get what I’m saying. I admire that lack of pretense a great deal, but it also makes being a children’s leader much more intimidating than leading an adult class.

Thankfully, God never gives me challenges without also giving me the means to get over them. Therefore, I have survived the practice, I have survived the politics, and I will survive the program. Will I do it again? I don’t know. That’s up to God.

4 thoughts on “Christmas Program”

  1. Let us know how it goes. I appreciate the awkward feeling of doing things outside of our comfort zones. Regardless of your feelings, I am sure the children have benefitted from someone stepping up and allowing the Christmas program to go on.

    1. The program went well. It was short, but probably nobody minded too much. The kids were awesome and knew all their lines. They even remembered to sing the songs instead of shout them. 🙂

  2. So you were Charlie Brown trying to get the kids to listen while they just wanted to dance! I’m a special ed parapro trying to get attention deficit kids to focus on the teacher so I feel your pain. Still, it sounds like everything came out just like it was supposed to, and that because kids may know when you don’t know what you’re doing, but they also know a sincere heart when they see one.

Leave a Reply

