Why I like art

Sometimes I have to step back and remember why I do things. Why do I blog? Because I like to write. So why do I blog about art? Because I like art. Why do I like art? I don’t know, but I’m willing to think it through. I’ll list a few reasons, not in order of importance, just in the order they come to me.

Reason 1: I studied art in college.

And it was fascinating. I learned about art I didn’t know existed. I changed my opinions about art. Previous to my art history classes I admired Thomas Kinkade as much as I admired Monet. After learning about art all through the ages, I realized there is more to it than what meets the eye. One artist does not equal one painting. I learned to take in the whole process of becoming an artist, how an artist makes use of the ideas of the time period, what sort of community the artist thrives (or suffers) in. A whole new world was opened to me. (Sorry Mr. Kinkade. Your sentimentality doesn’t seem very important to me anymore. I wish you would show some signs of moving forward, working through your problems on canvas, not catering to the public.)

Reason 2: I like to create art.

A wise professor once told me I must always be watching other artists, both past and present. Always let other artists influence my own work.

Reason 3: I like beauty.

Beautiful art fulfills something in me. Calms me, upsets me, changes me… I don’t know. It does something. “Art washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.” — Pablo Picasso

Reason 4: I like to look into art.

It’s a little more profound than looking at it. Similar to Reason 1, it’s looking into this whole other world. It’s considering the artist’s life, but it is also considering an individual artwork in different ways. I can look at a painting and wonder about the story it tells, or I can admire the quality of the brushstrokes, analyze the color scheme, learn from the artist’s composition and use of space, consider my emotional reaction to the work, drown myself in the art only to find myself surfacing in some other memory, some other story.

That’s enough reasons for now. If you’d like, you could share some of your reasons for liking art.

3 thoughts on “Why I like art”

  1. Reading your reasons was enough inspiration for one day for me! BTW Mr Kinkade has now passed on, and in California at least his reputation has become less than it was before. Good for you and your reasons!

    1. Thanks for the info; I didn’t know. I always thought of him as “the painter of light” who had some sort of insight into the sublime (even if I didn’t like how he marketed his art). Turns out he had his problems just like the rest of mankind.

Leave a Reply

