Read, read, read

I don’t have much to say lately because I’ve been so engrossed in three books. My downstairs book: Lila by Marilynne Robinson (just out this fall!). My upstairs book: The Country of the Pointed Firs and Other Stories by Sarah Orne Jewett. My treadmill book on Kindle: Song of the Lark by Willa Cather. (I’ve finally found a reason to really like my e-reader. It is easier to hold while walking on the treadmill. All other times, I’d rather read a real book.)

As usual, when reading a well-written book, I have an urge to write stories of my own. Now I’m reading three well-written books, you can imagine what I’m going to do next after I hit the publish button! Okay, yes, I might read some more. But I should write. Do you think I can do both at the same time?

4 thoughts on “Read, read, read”

  1. I so enjoy your posts, Amy! I plan to take a look at the books you’re reading. I too have three books going now. My car book (audio) is Dostoyevsky’s Brother’s Karamazov, my kitchen book (also audio) is Portrait of a Lady by Henry James, and my bedside book is Jerry App’s The Quiet Season.

    So many great writers recommend the importance of reading, so it must be possible to read well and write at the same time.

    I especially like my e-reader when reading in bed at night. It’s much easier to hold and turn pages while lying down. ~Lori

    1. Hi Lori! It’s nice to hear from you. I love your book choices, and I’m going to look into that last one because I haven’t heard of it. You are probably wise to read with an e-reader at night. I tend to doze off while holding a big book up, and it sometimes lands on my face:)

  2. Interesting that you read more than one book at a time- I know people do this but I just realized that I never do. I don’t know why. As far as the reading vs. writing question, well of course I think one should read a lot to be a better writer. But I also feel that (for me) reading is so much easier- I think writing is kind of like exercise (hard work) and reading is more about pleasure. Although it does depend on what you’re reading- you read some pretty weighty books 🙂 If I were going to read Plato or something that would probably be as much work as writing…

    1. Hi Miriam, I’ve read multiple books for as long as I can remember. Occasionally, when I’ve got one I want to finish quickly, I’ll stick to reading just that one. You’d think I’d get storylines confused, but I don’t. It’s pretty easy to keep those different “worlds” apart. As for writing… yeah, that’s hard work. I agree. Reading is easier most of the time. But I like calling myself a writer, so I better do the work:)

Leave a Reply

