Jewett, Cather and Louise Imogen Guiney

But give to thine own story
Simplicity, with glory.

I found this couplet in the preface of a book I picked up today at a used book sale. The preface is written by Willa Cather (I would love to be a character in one of her books!). The book is The Country of the Pointed Firs and other stories by Sarah Orne Jewett (I would like to write a book like hers!). The couplet is credited to Louise Imogen Guiney. I have no idea who she is, and I’m too tired to do the research right now. Whoever dear Louise is, I admire her storytelling wisdom. Such a happy beginning to a simple and glorious book. I’ve read it before, so I know it is true.

2 thoughts on “Jewett, Cather and Louise Imogen Guiney”

  1. I have long loved The Country of the Pointed Firs. Jewett’s emotionally sparse language and love of land and nature (not unlike Cather) always spoke to me. My favorite scene in the book is when the daughter goes to visit her mother on the tiny island where she lives. Jewett describes it as one heart on sea calling to the other on land.

Leave a Reply

