Perspective

I spend my life with my kids. I talk to them, teach them, play with them, train them. I can see a mood coming on before it even crosses my child’s face. Then, I take them to a place where they are with other kids, busy interacting with other people, and I can see things I don’t see from close up. I see how young five-years-old really is. That is what struck me today. I look at my kids and think how young and vulnerable they are yet. What a strange learning curve they have! On one hand they are being taught the sophisticated rules of reading and arithmetic. On the other hand they are still in love with stuffed animals and favorite blankets, and they want to be rocked a little before bed.

It must take a lot of wisdom to keep little kids in perspective. I hope we all grow in wisdom.

Leave a Reply

