Van Gogh in Montmartre

Terrace and Observation Deck at the Moulin de Blute-Fin, Montmartre, Vincent Van Gogh, 1886
Terrace and Observation Deck at the Moulin de Blute-Fin, Montmartre, Vincent Van Gogh, 1886

I bought a framed print of this at a garage sale today. It’s going on the wall above my computer screen. At the moment it is resting in a chair behind me, and I am getting nothing done because I keep looking back.

Montmartre is a part of Paris in which Van Gogh lived with his brother during 1886-1887. The Moulin de Blute-Fin is a windmill. My initial reasons for loving to stare at this painting include the short, stubbled brushstrokes characteristic of Van Gogh, the adventure of joining these observers on the terrace, the way the whole painting makes me feel a cold, raw wind against my face, and the quirky lampposts that seem both wrong and very right at the same time.

4 thoughts on “Van Gogh in Montmartre”

Leave a Reply

