Going to Chicago

"Seated Woman with a Parasol (Study for La Grande Jatte), Georges Seurat, 1884/85
“Seated Woman with a Parasol (Study for La Grande Jatte), Georges Seurat, 1884/85

My nephew is getting married in a suburb of Chicago this weekend, so the kids and I are going on a little trip with my parents. Some of us have colds, and I actually lost my voice all day today, but off we go anyway! The wedding will be outdoors (weather permitting) and I shall think of this lovely lady, sitting tall and proper, gazing at the goings-on from beneath her parasol. Effortless elegance. I think I prefer this charcoal study to the actual painting of her in Seurat’s “Sunday Afternoon.” The soft, smooth texture and the cream background color suit her. A drawing is so direct, the artist’s hand is so very close to the paper, that the personality of the person drawn can be easier caught than in a painting. Paint covers. A drawing tool shapes.

Leave a Reply

