Indian Camp

They were seated in the boat, Nick in the stern, his father rowing. The sun was coming up over the hills. A bass jumped, making a circle in the water. Nick trailed his hand in the water. It felt warm in the sharp chill of the morning.

In the early morning on the lake sitting in the stern of the boat with his father rowing, he felt quite sure that he would never die.

— from “Indian Camp” by Ernest Hemingway, 1925

Hemingway writes with simplicity. But beneath those simple sentences and those snapshot images lies an undercurrent of story and tension. A story pushed below the surface. Does it work? For many readers, yes it does. They like the understated style. As for me, I like it until I don’t anymore. I start wondering what Hemingway is really trying to say after all.

Let me read Hemingway in small doses, and then hand me something written by a person who loves words and sentences and paragraphs and isn’t afraid to pile them up until the book is dripping with prose.

3 thoughts on “Indian Camp”

  1. I read A Moveable Feast a couple of years ago, after being inspired by The Paris Wife. I decided I didn’t really enjoy Hemingway’s style of writing 🙂 I had read some of his other works when I was young, but it was neat to revisit him as an older person and see what I thought. I liked The Paris Wife better;) But I still think it’s important to at least be familiar with his work, so you can know whether you like it or not.

    1. You’re right. He’s an important American writer, whether we like his writing or not. He has influenced a lot of other writers. His theories about writing are interesting, too. I do prefer reading about him rather than reading what he wrote.

  2. I always scratch my head and wonder what makes everyone rave about Hemingway’s writing. He was a master writing dialog and some of his stories are interesting, but I just never really ” got ” him. I agree with you, he is more interesting to read about than to read his stories. Frank

Leave a Reply

