A Sunlit Interior

A Woman and a Child in a Sunlit Interior, Albert Edelfelt, 1889
A Woman and a Child in a Sunlit Interior, Albert Edelfelt, 1889

In my contemplative moods, I like to think about spiritual transparency. This Finnish painting (and other paintings of sunshine lighting the faces of people indoors) reminds me of God’s light warming our hearts through little windows of life. A window could be a time of prayer. It could be an encouraging person we meet. It could be the testimony of nature as we gaze at its beauty. Here in our little house of earth, we never see the blaze of God directly. We see it through things. Sometimes it burns our souls, sometimes it melts a cold mood, and sometimes it warms a lonely heart. God’s light reflects onto us, and as we grow closer to the light, it breaks down our solidity of self, and we become transparent, allowing the light to show through us. As this painting speaks partly of motherhood, I am reminded that I can direct God’s love onto my children by soaking myself in His Word and letting it soak right through me onto them.

A small poem of mine which touches on this issue can be found here. I’m not sure I got it right, but my words did reach for the truth.

Leave a Reply

