La Ghirlandata

La Ghirlandata, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, 1873
La Ghirlandata, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, 1873

I am sometimes intimidated by symbolic paintings. If I don’t know the right meanings of things, does that mean I misunderstand the painting? This artist is also involved in a literary movement, so I can imagine there are connections between his paintings and literature, mostly unknown to me. Does that make the art inaccessible to me? I choose to say no. The viewer brings something to the art. There is an aspect of meaning that is unique to each person who looks at this painting. What is yours?

I wrote a poem from the perspective of one viewer who took away more than a meaning. You can read it here.

Leave a Reply

