Writing Process Blog Tour

I was invited to this blog tour by R.L. Syme, (she also answers to “Becca”). You can learn more about her writing and her new highlander romance book at her blog.

1) What am I working on?
At the moment I am writing a poem a day for National Poetry Writing Month. Twenty-one days and going strong! I had been trying to write stories, and I was struggling. Nothing seemed important enough to continue working on. This month-long exercise is proving to myself that I really am a dedicated writer, and I really do have things to say. Plus, I’m getting the rust out of my writing machine.

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?
Everyone has a unique voice. And every writer brings her own personal history to her work. I do write from my heart, and things come out in my stories and poetry that I didn’t even know about myself. My writing is a probe, digging deep inside the Amy of past, present and imagined future.

3) Why do I write what I do?
It’s not because I think my writing will hit the New York Times Bestseller list. It’s not because I want my family and friends (and lots of strangers) to know what goes on in my head. Maybe it’s because I’m a quiet person and writing is a way for me to talk. Maybe I write down those crazy conversations people carry forth in their brains. And then I imagine settings and plots and characters to go along with them. Probably I just do it because God has allowed me to write again after a long, long writer’s block.

4) How does your writing process work?
I sit down at the computer at night, after my kids are asleep. I open up a book or three which hopefully will inspire me. I put my fingers on the keyboard. I think. I write. I use the backspace key a lot. Generally, I end up with more words on the screen than I started with.

Next week you can learn about my friend Susan Karsten and her writing process. She writes regency historical fiction, and she is a very sweet lady. Her blog can be found here.

3 thoughts on “Writing Process Blog Tour”

  1. I love your explanation about why you write. That makes total sense to me. Can’t wait to see next week’s Regency Historical Fiction friend. I love finding new writers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

