A Shakespearean Sonnet

LII.
So am I as the rich, whose blessed key
Can bring him to his sweet up-locked treasure,
The which he will not every hour survey,
For blunting the fine point of seldom pleasure.
Therefore are feasts so solemn and rare,
Since, seldom coming, in the long year set,
Like stones of worth they thinly placed are,
Or captain jewels in the carcanet.
So is the time that keeps you as my chest,
Or as the wardrobe which the robe doth hide,
To make some special instant special blest,
By new unfolding his imprison’d pride.

Blessed are you, whose worthiness gives scope,
Being had, to triumph, being lack’d, to hope.

At first, I thought, Come on… is it really good to be apart from the one you love? Isn’t this a bit unrealistic? But then, I thought, At least he’s not whining. There are some situations in life when two people in love are forced apart for periods of time. Those must be trying times. It is good to keep such a positive outlook. It is good to keep your hope up.

Then, I went further and thought about applying this poem to other things besides two lovers. How about the ability to write well? And to be published? If I was published often and constantly, would that be better than the state of limbo between the far-between publications? I had a book published last year, and I do not have anything written now that even resembles a new manuscript. But I am writing. (Check out my NaPoWriMo website!) And, yes, I am hopeful, not stressed out, not depressed, not giving up. Just happy to have my good writing imprisoned by the chest of time, and knowing that someone will eventually find a key to open it.

Leave a Reply

