The Reader

The Reader, Jean-Honore Fragonard, circa 1770-1772
The Reader, Jean-Honore Fragonard, circa 1770-1772

Such a tiny book! Maybe it’s poetry. Whatever it is, she seems immersed in it.

I find myself reading more and more. I don’t read fast, but lately I devour the written word at every spare moment of my day. Other than my devotional books (which are placed at strategic places around the house), I have bookmarks in The Best American Short Stories 2013 edited by Elizabeth Strout, The Red Garden by Alice Hoffman, The Frederick Manfred Reader, Drawing With Children by Mona Brookes, Towards a Philosophy of Education by Charlotte Mason, and Rush Revere and the First Patriots: Time-Travel Adventures with Exceptional Americans by Rush Limbaugh. That last one I’m reading to my six-year-old (and my husband when he’s in his chair pretending to read the newspaper). And now I’m looking at my list and thinking I really ought to add a book of poetry to round things out. I wish 18th century paintings had zoom so I could see what she’s reading!

2 thoughts on “The Reader”

  1. That’s a lot of books to have going at once 🙂 I find that I feel much better about myself when i make reading a priority.

Leave a Reply

