Guess which book this is from…

Nothing can harm you now. These autumn days will shorten and grow cold. The leaves will shake loose from the trees and fall. Christmas will come, then the snows of winter. You will live to enjoy the beauty of the frozen world, for you mean a great deal to Zuckerman and he will not harm you, ever. Winter will pass, the days will lengthen, the ice will melt in the pasture pond. The song sparrow will return and sing, the frogs will awake, the warm wind will blow again. All these sights and sounds and smells will be yours to enjoy, Wilbur–this lovely world, these precious days…”

Have you guessed it? I’ll tell the answer in the next paragraph…

It’s a book I just finished reading to my children–Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White, 1952. I found many beautiful passages in this book. The ending is also a gentle and thoughtful introduction to the concept of death. I am always pleased to find such quality in books meant for the little ones who really deserve such thoughtfulness and beauty.

4 thoughts on “Guess which book this is from…”

  1. One of my favorites too. I’ve read it several times, to all of my kids. Such a perfect children’s book. I like the movie a lot too- and I don’t usually like movie versions of books. The older one more so than the newer version, although the new version is okay.

Leave a Reply

