Monet’s Water Lilies

Le Bassin des Nympheas, Claude Monet, 1904
Le Bassin des Nympheas, Claude Monet, 1904

This painting (or else another very similar Monet water lily painting) holds a special place in my memories. I saw it in person when I went to the Art Institute of Chicago with my art history class in college. It was the painting I chose to write about for class. I don’t remember the essay very well, but I do remember contemplating the distinctions (in this case, lack of distinctions) between abstraction and realism. It looks like a pond with water lilies in it. It also looks like an abstraction–a painting that has more to do with colors and brushstrokes than water lilies and water. It is in this gray area that I like to rest my thoughts. A place where memory and imagination, prayer and words from books swim freely together, unhindered by the time of day or the real people in the house with me. It’s not a complete dream-world; it’s somewhere between dreams and reality. It might be my favorite place to be.

3 thoughts on “Monet’s Water Lilies”

    1. There is a tool to link a blog onto my Goodreads author page. I haven’t found Goodreads to be super helpful in promoting my book, even with the giveaway I did. But then, I don’t spend a lot of time on Goodreads either.

Leave a Reply

