Report on My Second Book Reading

I am home from a book reading at MUGS Coffee House in Ripon, WI. If you’re a coffee shop person and you’re in the area, you ought to check this one out. I read from a tall stool in front of the fireplace, facing a cozy arrangement of leather couches and chairs. I had an audience of three people, which includes the employee (but she’s my cousin, so it counts). The other two were a former classmate of mine and his friend. It was, at times, awkward because my little speech seemed too formal. But when I actually read from my book, it was all good. So, I had a good time, we had a nice talk after the reading, and I’m not so sad about the lack of a big audience.

One discussion that came up had to do with short stories versus novels. Personally, I enjoy both. Some find short stories to be more accessible because they are short and don’t take a big commitment to read. Some prefer novels because they tell more. A short story may leave some readers hanging, wanting more information. What are your opinions on the matter?

4 thoughts on “Report on My Second Book Reading”

  1. Glad it went well! I’m one who usually wants more after reading a short story. ๐Ÿ™‚ However, not being a very fast reader, I don’t get through many novels either.

    1. That sounds like me and poetry. I used to avoid poetry like the plague. I didn’t have a real reason why I didn’t like it. Somewhere along the line I changed my mind, and I now I love most of it. I don’t think I could tell you why I love it, though. Maybe it’s a love for beautiful language. That’s probably why I don’t have a preference between short stories and novels. Anything that uses language beautifully is something I’d like to read.

Leave a Reply

