Favorite Marriage Proposal

This comes from Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre. Rochester has just asked Jane to marry him. Jane has not answered yet.

“Do you doubt me, Jane?”

“Entirely.”

“You have no faith in me?”

“Not a whit.”

“Am I a liar in your eyes?” he asked passionately. “Little sceptic, you shall be convinced… You–you strange–you almost unearthly thing!–I love as my own flesh. You–poor and obscure, and small and plain as you are–I entreat to accept me as a husband.”

“What, me!” I ejaculated.

[The dialogue continues with many exclamations.]

“Jane, accept me quickly. Say Edward–give me my name–Edward–I will marry you.”

“Are you in earnest? Do you truly love me? Do you sincerely wish me to be your wife?”

“I do; and if an oath is necessary to satisfy you, I swear it.”

“Then, sir, I will marry you.”

“Edward–my little wife!”

“Dear Edward!”

[How I enjoy the dynamics between this famous couple!]

One thought on “Favorite Marriage Proposal”

  1. My favorite novel of all time. When you read my books, you will often see allusions to it; at least twice I have incorporated Rochester’s metaphor of the heart string: “I sometimes have a queer feeling with regard to you–especially when you are near me, as now: it is as if I had a string somewhere under my left ribs, tightly and inextricably knotted to a similar string situated in the corresponding quarter of your little frame. And if that boisterous channel, and two hundred miles or so of land come broad between us, I am afraid that cord of communion will be snapt; and then I’ve a nervous notion I should take to bleeding inwardly.”

Leave a Reply

