Home » Art » The Hailstorm

The Hailstorm

The Hailstorm, Thomas Hart Benton, 1940

The Hailstorm, Thomas Hart Benton, 1940


I’ve been doing some thinking about the 1930s and 40s, FDR, and the New Deal. I don’t normally find myself in a political frame of mind, so when a political idea pops into it, I take notice. It seems to me the people of the United States suffered under the bureaucracy and regulations of the New Deal. Less freedom, more government. The US political scene has changed since then, but now I see many of the same things in our current federal government. More government control, less free market. Well, when you see a bad thing coming, you run for cover or you get hit, right? I’m wondering if there are safe places in running distance, or if the storm will be so bad it completely changes the landscape.

Leave a Reply

